Professor Alice Clark joined the Sustainable Minerals Institute (SMI) as the Director of Production Centres - the Julius Kruttschnitt Mineral Research Centre (JKMRC) and the W.H. Bryan Mining & Geology Research Centre (BRC) - in September 2015. In 2019 she moved into the position of Deputy Director SMI – Strategic Planning and is working to assist the SMI Director in developing strategic planning initiatives for the Institute.

Alice brings over 30 years of minerals industry experience to this role and has held senior managerial positions as well as consulting to Government and major resources groups involved in discovery, operations development, and mergers and acquisitions. Her work on a variety of mineral deposits has spanned exploration and mine geology, resource and reserve estimation, feasibility studies, due diligence review, professional mentoring, and management.

Alice’s extensive experience has enabled her to develop an in-depth understanding of the requirement for an integrated approach from discovery to mine closure.

Professor Clark has previously held a number of significant industry roles:

  • President of The Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy (AusIMM)
  • Deputy Chair of the Joint Ore Reserves Committee (JORC)
  • Appointed to the Queensland Exploration Council
  • Appointed as Queensland Resource Industry Ambassador by the Qld Government
  • Member of the NSW Government Gateway Panel

She is a Commissioner with the NSW Government Independent Planning Commission and has been honoured with the AusIMM Beryl Jacka Award in recognition of extraordinary and sustained service to the Institute.

“Working with the world class team of research professionals at the SMI brings together expertise, technology and innovation aimed at enabling productivity improvements that incorporate the significant issues of mine closure from the outset of mining development proposals.”

Professor Clark was recognised as a Fellow of the Australian Academicy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE) on 26 November 2020, for her outstanding contribution to advancing engineering, technology and applied science.