The role of the SMI Advisory Board is to provide advice and guidance on the strategic direction of the Sustainable Minerals Institute to its Director and The University of Queensland.



Dr Charlie Sartain
SMI Advisory Board Chair


Board Members

Professor Rick Valenta
Director (Acting), Sustainable Minerals Institute

Mr Warwick Agnew
Director General,
Queensland Government Department of Resources 

Professor Aidan Byrne
Provost, The University of Queensland

Mr Mark Bartlett
Head of Health Safety and Security,

Mr Troy Hey
Executive General Manager – Stakeholder Relations,
MMG Limited

Mr Jared Osborne
General Manager – Technical Development,
Rio Tinto

Mr Andrew McClelland
Group Head Processing,
Anglo American plc

Adjunct Professor Roger Higgins
Independent Member

Mr Scott Cowie
Chair, SMI-Production Centres Advisory Board

Adjunct Professor Christine Charles
Chair, SMI Centre for Social Responsibility in Mining Advisory Board

Ms Bobbie Foot
Head, Capability & Learning BHP Operating System Centre of Excellence

Mr Michael Duvenhage
Co-Chair, Minerals Industry Safety and Health Centre Advisory Board

Ms Rebecca Perret
Co-Chair, Minerals Industry Safety and Health Centre Advisory Board