The 2022 SMI Memorial Awards Ceremony included the presentation of the Ian Morley Prize, the Bill Whiten Memorial Prize and the Dee Bradshaw Travel Scholarship. The ceremony ran a full day and included presentations and panel discussions under the theme 'Collaboration and Engagement'

View the 2022 Memorial Awards Ceremony

The Ian Morley Prize was established in 1990 and is awarded annually to a Sustainable Minerals Institute Production Centres (JKMRC & BRC) research student.

The winner of the Ian Morley Prize is selected based on academic achievement, reports of work experience, leadership and personality.


The Dee Bradshaw Travel Scholarship was established to enable meritorious postgraduate students to travel to an approved international institution to develop their research capabilities and experience within the minerals processing sector.

The recipient of the Dee Bradshaw Travel Scholarship is selected based on academic achievement and potential for scholastic success, as well as the significance and relevance of the international travel to the applicant’s research and/or professional development in the minerals processing field.

The Bill Whiten Memorial Prize was established in 2021 and is maintained by the income of a perpetual endowment fund supported by Mrs Agnes Whiten AM.

The purpose of the prize is to encourage meritorious PhD students engaging in process control and model development at The University of Queensland to complete their thesis or participate in a local or international conference. 


Supported by: