Early Days of the JKMRC seminar by Prof Alban Lynch AO

9 March 2018

A special SMI-JKMRC Friday seminar was held on 9 March 2018 at the Indooroopilly Mine Site, with a presentation by Professor Alban Lynch. 

Dr Lynch initiated the idea of the SMI-JKMRC Friday seminar series almost five decades ago. An overview of the research activities during the early days of the centre was provided, highlighting the challenges and successes experienced by the growing research team. A large audience of current students and staff attended the presentation along with alumni and previous staff connected to the long history of research projects lead by Dr Lynch. After the entertaining presentation, all enjoyed catching up over coffee with much reminiscing about the inspiring leadership and legacy of Dr Lynch’s research at the SMI-JKMRC.


Prof Alban Lynch AO

Is the first Director of Australia’s JKMRC and from 1988-1993 he was head of the Department of Mining and Metallurgical Engineering at the University of Queensland. 

Alban Lynch
Prof Alban Lynch AO

Professor Lynch has published four books and over 150 technical publications in conference proceedings and refereed journals and had a huge impact on the mining sector through the foundation of SMI-JKMRC. Dr Lynch has been the recipient of many awards which prior to his International Mining 2013 Hall of Fame induction, including:

  • The 1978 President’s Award from The Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy (AusIMM)
  • The 1985 Richards Award from the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineers
  • The 1989 AusIMM Distinguished Speaker Exchange Program
  • The 1991 AusIMM Sir Willis Connolly Medal
  • The 1993 Institute Medal from the AusIMM
  • An Officership in the Order of Australia in 1999 “for service to the mining industry, particularly in the area of research and education of the application of engineering technology in minerals processing.”
  • In more recent years, Dr Lynch’s accolades have included:

  • The 2000 AM Gaudin Award from the Society for Mining, Metallurgy and Exploration, “for his many contributions to the simulation and control of comminution and flotation circuits.”
  • An Honorary Fellowship from the AusIMM in 2004 “in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the Minerals Industry over many years which has previously been recognised through 50 years membership in 2004.”
  • President of The AusIMM in 1989